De-Grinchifying

I’ve been feeling a bit Grinchy lately – totally anti-holiday spirit. Now, before all you Americans say “but it’s not even Thanksgiving yet!” remember that Canadian Thanksgiving is in October so Toronto is rightfully in full Christmas swing. I don’t know if it’s being busy with work or the typical single-at-the-holidays blues, but I definitely need to shake off the bah-humbug-ie feeling (thanks Maggie for the awesome word!).

Despite Starbucks’ best efforts, not even a salted caramel hot cocoa did the trick, so I spent the weekend doing fun holiday things.

First up, a spicy holiday tea blend (in my Chicago mug – I’m overdue for a visit!).

Spicy tea in my new favorite mug.

Spicy tea in my new favorite mug.

Next on the docket: a huge pot of chicken noodle soup, inspired by Eat Live Run’s recent post. Chicken soup cures everything, right? Chopping fresh farmers market veggies and stirring a steaming pot of broth – getting closer!

Chopped veggies and steamy soup

Chopped veggies and steamy soup

Feeling much cozier, I put on my favorite sparkly dress, curled my hair, and hit the dance floor for a girls night out at a charity fundraiser. Sequins and the spirit of giving? Seems like a recipe for Christmas cheer.

Glammed up!

Glammed up!

Girls night out!

Girls night out!

After a snoozy Sunday morning, it was time to pull out the big guns and head to the cheeriest place of all – the mall, obviously – to scope potential gifts and get my list in order. The Bay’s holiday windows did the trick!

Santa's workshop

Santa’s workshop

Loading the sleigh

Loading the sleigh

Village carolers

Village carolers

I timed my shopping trip to get home in time to see the Toronto Santa Parade finish in front of my apartment. This was a mistake. Tripping through crowds of crying children shrank my heart back to two-sizes too small. Large groups of kids are not my thing – why all the screaming? Luckily I’m flying to New Orleans next weekend to spend Thanksgiving week at home with the family. It will be my first trip back since moving, and I can’t wait! I have a feeling that baking some pies and relaxing with my parents will do the trick.

One response to “De-Grinchifying

  1. Pingback: Christmas Cheer | Light Up North·

Leave a Reply

