Bring on Fall

Happy Labo(u)r Day weekend everyone! Yes, Canada has Labour Day too. I’m spending a bit of time this weekend pulling all of my seersucker, linen, and bright whites out of my closet for a pre-storage clean. I’m generally not a stickler for fashion rules, but seersucker after Labor Day just doesn’t fly. Typically I dread this unofficial end of summer since it means icy winter days are just over the horizon, but given that this summer has been quite lackluster on the weather front I say bring on fall! Based on my Facebook, Feedly, and Pinterest pages, it seems like everyone feels the same way. I already have a fall style Pinterest board going, as well as a fall recipe board.

Hopefully by the Autumnal Equinox (September 22nd) the weather cooperates and gives us some crisp clear air and sidewalks covered in crunchy leaves. Here are a few things that have me excited about fall:

Boots! Riding boots and Bean boots are my go-tos, and I’m considering adding a bootie to the mix. I’m coveting the Rag and Bone Harrows, but the $500 price tag has me looking around for something more budget-friendly. These DV’s look like a good alternative.

Rag and Bone Harrow Boot

Rag and Bone Harrow Boot

DV by Dolce Vita Jaxen

DV by Dolce Vita Jaxen

Fall running! I hate hate hate sweat. When I started taking exercise more seriously I really had to get over my total disgust of feeling sweaty. Cooler temps mean less sweat as my half marathon training kicks in to high gear. Win.

fall running

Pumpkin everything. Like every other female in my demographic, I love all things pumpkin. Fact: during the great pumpkin shortage of 2010, I ordered a case of canned pumpkin from Amazon to make sure I’d last through the fall and winter…and I still ran out. I put it in everything – from oatmeal to soup to smoothies to my friend Emily’s killer pumpkin chocolate chip muffins. This year Starbucks is celebrating the 10th anniversary of the Pumpkin Spice Latte (PSL to the obsessed) – I refuse to indulge until legit fall weather hits though.

PSL

Scarves! I own too many. Every time I go to New York I’ll pick up a few from the street vendors for about $5 a pop, so at this point I have most of the color spectrum covered and I’ve turned my eye to bold patterns. Right now I’m crushing on this hot air balloon print from Tuckernuck and this cozy fashionABLE option that also supports an awesome cause:

Hot Air Balloon Scarf

Hot Air Balloon Scarf

fashionABLE Genet

fashionABLE Genet

Big pots of soup. Since I live alone, I often cook a big batch of whatever and separate it into individual portions to eat throughout the week or freeze. This black bean pumpkin from Smitten Kitchen is one of my go-to recipes:

black bean pumpkin soup

Smitten Kitchen’s Black Bean Pumpkin Soup

I’m actually looking forward to bundling up in a jacket and scarf, grabbing my PSL from Starbucks and stomping through crunchy leaves to load up on squash and apples at the farmers’ market. Follow that up by curling up on the couch under a big cozy wool blanket (thanks to Mom & Dad for that one!) to watch Saints football with a pot of soup simmering on the stove and you’ve got my ideal fall day.

Leave a Reply

