Pumpkin Pie

I had a great, relaxing Thanksgiving at home celebrating with family and friends. My parents hosted a feast: turkey, cranberries, green bean casserole, mashed potatoes…blah blah blah PUMPKIN PIE. Pumpkin pie is pretty much my favorite part of Thanksgiving dinner. For as long as I’ve been able to hold a spoon, making pumpkin pie has been my job in Thanksgiving prep. Nowadays I have other responsibilities, like the green bean casserole (made from scratch, thank you) but the pie is always my favorite. Dad is still in charge of making the pastry dough through. We’ve been using the same recipe for as long as I can remember, and if you think I’m going to share it here you’re wrong. Respect the family recipe.

Once the dough is prepped and chilled, it’s time to roll.

20131127-210907.jpg
The goal here is just to get it big enough to cover the pie dish in an even layer. Then it’s time to flip it into the pie dish, and fold and crimp the edges. If you have enough self control not to eat the scraps (or, only some of the scraps), you can make them into decorative little shapes. I went with leaves because they’re easy.

20131127-211224.jpg
Pumpkin pie filling is extremely liquidy, so you need to pre-bake the crust for about 15 minutes to let it dry out a bit. Pie weights come in handy here to keep it from puffing up. Dried beans also work, and I’ve used a salad plate in a pinch.

20131127-211447.jpg
While that’s baking, mix up the filling.

20131127-211611.jpg
Secret ingredient? Booze!

Stir it well…

20131127-211705.jpg
Pour it in the baked pie shell and bake it for about an hour and a half. Try not to let the filling slop over the edge while moving it to the oven like I did. Sigh.

20131127-211752.jpg
And finally, it looks like this:

20131127-211835.jpg

Top with whipped cream and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

