A Canadian Fourth of July

Celebrating the 4th of July in Canada is tough. Canada Day celebrations just don’t do it for me – the same general theme of barbecues and fireworks is there, but it’s all red and white, no blue. Maple leaves, not stars.

Never one to turn down an excuse to bake, I’d planned on an apple pie but was starting to dread the work involved, so when Smitten Kitchen popped up on my feed insisting that I abandon the pie and make berry galettes instead, I had to oblige.

The recipe is pretty simple, a basic pie crust with some lemon zest, and a simple lemony berry filling. I made a blueberry and raspberry version (to avoid pitting cherries), and they somewhat shockingly actually resembled Smitten Kitchen’s version. Win!
20140709-214026-78026401.jpg
I also picked up some vanilla ice cream to serve as the white in my red white and blue treat.

Friday morning I donned a white button down, bright blue pants and red espadrilles, boxed up the galettes and went to work.

My coworkers decorated my cube for the 4th!

20140709-214124-78084307.jpg
The galettes were a hit, as was my predictably obnoxious all-office 4th of July email, full text below:

Subject: It’s a Party in the USA!

Since moving to Canada, I’ve made an effort to go from this:

“I’m an American, you can’t do this to me!”

to this:

I’m making progress in learning the provinces…

20140709-214246-78166498.jpg
(hat tip: Buzzfeed via Maggie)

However, not actually being Canadian, I’m still inclined to celebrate the U.S.A.’s birthday like a true American:
Blowing stuff up

20140709-214343-78223218.jpg
And eating lots of sugar

20140709-214358-78238851.jpg
In honor of Independence Day aka the 4th of July aka the anniversary of the U S of A kicking Britain to the curb, please enjoy patriotic tarts in the kitchen (don’t forget the vanilla ice cream in the freezer!)
I’ll be at my desk listening to the Star Spangled Banner, America the Beautiful, God Bless America, and Party in the USA on repeat.

One response to “A Canadian Fourth of July

  1. Pingback: Make Immediately: Fontina, Pear, and Caramelized Onion Galette | Light Up North·

Leave a Reply

