Market Saturdays

A Saturday morning at the St. Lawrence Market is the late-20s definition of Instagram-worthy perfection. See #2 on the Thought Catalog list of Late 20s Obsessions:

2. Local, organic vegetables
What is our late 20s if not a never-ending montage of us going to Farmer’s Markets, then chopping up an endless supply of vegetables and packing them into tupperware that we then organize into our refrigerators all before noon?

Cold brew coffee in one hand, LL Bean Boat and Tote in the other, weaving through market stalls with mountains of kale and enormous leeks, and planning a week’s worth of cooking…ahhh…I could only be more basic and obnoxious if I wore leggings and Ugg boots accessorized with a Pumpkin Spice Latte.

kalemarket carrots

market potatoes

market winter squash

When I’m lucky enough to have a week with no travel ahead I tend to go a bit nuts and buy more than I can carry. A nice man chased me down to tell me my apples were falling out of my tote behind me. I also treated myself to some fresh flowers, and again, wanted way too many varieties for my own good. Luckily another woman looked equally overwhelmed and we decided to split a few bunches so we’d each get a nice mix.

Next up is the butcher, baker, fishmonger, cheesemonger, and…mustard monger?

St Lawrence butcher

St Lawrence baker

St Lawrence fishmonger

cheesemonger

IMG_2420And then it’s back home to wash, chop and prep a week’s worth of kale and arrange some flowers with Van Morrison playing in the background.

market tote

market flowersHappy weekend everyone!

 

2 responses to “Market Saturdays

Leave a Reply

